Book Review: The Extension Squad

    Good morning everyone! I’ve been talking a lot about writing lately, so I think it’s time I gave you a book review! 

    At the YDubs Conference I went to two weeks ago, I got some amazing books. Two of them were two volumes of the Extension Squad by R.M. Scheller illustrated by Heather Rose.

    I read both in two days and loved them so much! So, it didn’t take much for my friend Allie to convince me to write a book review for the first volume! 

    Now, let me tell you about this awesome book!

Different Story

    One of the reasons this book is one of my favorites, is the fact that it is different! 

    So often you get stories that are the same as that last fantasy novel you read or the same plot as that sci-fi book you just finished. But with the Extension Squad, you get a whole new story. It feels like a breath of fresh air in the book world. 

    The story is about a program for murderers, where they work capturing, saving, and performing other duties to the citizens, to get more days to live. If they don’t earn enough days, they will be executed. 

    It’s so different from the normal books I am used to reading, and it is written so well, it’s just so good! 

    Blurb: 

Austin calls it honor.

The others call it sulking.

Either way, they’re all on death row.

The law is simple: a life for a life, no matter the circumstances. When aspiring hero Austin takes a life in defense of another person, he’s thrown in with the cutthroats on death row. Even though they’re doomed to die, they’re given an extension—by doing the grunt work for the heroes, they can prolong the time until they’re killed. But Austin refuses to play that game. If he’s going to die sooner or later anyway, he’ll do so with his pride intact.

The only question is whether he has the resolve to see it through.

    Characters

    Another thing I love about these books is the characters. They are all so different and relatable, it’s hard to find a favorite. 

    It’s one of my favorite books in the character sense. The only other book comparable with characters would be The Green Ember by S.D. Smith. But with how different the genres of those two books, it is hardly comparable. 

    If I were to choose my favorite character from the Extension Squad, I would have to choose Jack-oops, I mean Brandon 😉, Austin, Jax, and (somewhat) Connor. All of them had such amazing personalities that I love as a writer and a reader!

Age Range

    The age range for these books is probably 11+ ish. It is pretty clean, overall. But there is some violence, non-graphic descriptions of injuries, mentions of death, and some romantic touches.

    These books will probably suit a younger audience just as well though, depending on maturity level. 

How Can You Read This Book!

    You really need to read these books, they are some of my new favorites!

    Right now, you can buy both e-books on Amazon for $2.99. It is totally worth it! 

    To buy Volume 1: https://www.amazon.com/Extension-Squad-Vol-R-Scheller-ebook/dp/B0B8BZ7G75

To buy Volume 2: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0CDJX1X3C?notRedirectToSDP=1&ref_=dbs_mng_calw_1&storeType=ebooks   

Please get these books to help support a YWW author! And leave a review on Amazon after reading! These books are so amazing and are such a good read! 

Until next time, 

~A.J. Syngrafèas

P.S. If you’d like to check out another amazing book review on this book, go to https://equineonthemind.com/?p=763 to find Allie Lynn’s review! 

4 thoughts on “Book Review: The Extension Squad

Add yours

  1. Those books sound really interesting! Completely different from anything I’ve ever read! I would love to read them some time! Thank you so much for sharing your favorite books with us!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started